Hershey’s Bar Halloween Costume

Last year, my daughter wanted to be a chocolate bar for Halloween. How could I say no when it’s one of my favorite foods?!

The basic design of the costume is simple; the most time consuming part involved drawing, cutting out, and arranging the letters. I used inexpensive felt to make the costume, but I splurged a little on the silver material since that portion was small in area. Technically, though, the current Hershey’s bar is not wrapped in foil. However, I really wanted that nice contrast in color and texture, so I based the design on the way the candy bars used to be wrapped before the company switched to the plastic wrap.

The letters were attached using felt glue. The nutrition label and bar code on the back were made with iron-on inkjet transfer paper on white cotton fabric.

11 thoughts on “Hershey’s Bar Halloween Costume

  1. Pingback: Happy Halloween 2012! | Crafting Girl

    • Hi Lauren…I did not use a template or make a pattern for the letters. I pretty much measured what the height of the letters was going to be, then I calculated how wide each letter could be (don’t forget to account for the space between letters, too). I measured and drew the letters directly onto the grey felt with fabric chalk, using a ruler for the straight lines and freehanding the curves, and cut the letters out.

      Hope that helps…let me know if you have any other questions.

      – Kimmie Lee

    • Hi Heidi…I designed the labels using Adobe Illustrator, then printed the labels onto iron-on inkjet transfer paper (don’t forget to reverse the design before ironing it face down onto the white fabric, or the text will come out backwards!). You could use MS Word to design the labels. The font is Helvetica Narrow. Hope that helps! – Kimmie Lee From: Crafting Girl To: kimmie_yl@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, August 24, 2015 2:33 PM Subject: [Crafting Girl] Comment: “Hershey’s Bar Halloween Costume” #yiv0291391042 a:hover {color:red;} #yiv0291391042 a { text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;} #yiv0291391042 a.yiv0291391042primaryactionlink:link, #yiv0291391042 a.yiv0291391042primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;} #yiv0291391042 a.yiv0291391042primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv0291391042 a.yiv0291391042primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;} #yiv0291391042 WordPress.com | | |

  2. Hi! Beautiful costume! My daughter is a Hershey bar this year. I managed the front of the costume. But totally lost with the back!
    I have a basic inkjet printer at home with 8×10 paper. The labels on your costume look bigger. Please help!

Leave a Reply

