“40 is the new 30”

Yes, that is what a few friends told my husband when he turned 40 last month. Let’s hope those friends are right, because I will be reaching that milestone in a few years…yikes!

When I started planning a surprise family dinner party for my husband, I began by creating a simple logo in Illustrator:

40th.bday.logo

This logo was placed on the invitations, envelopes, favors, and correspondence.


I went with a ticket stub theme for the invitation. Here is the front of the invite:

40th.bday.outside


This is what the invitation looks like when it is opened up:

40th.bday.inside

40th.bday.inside.closeup

The ticket stub can be removed; it is held in place by the two slit punches in the dark gray cardstock.

White cardstock – Fox River Select Cover, 80# Protocol White
Basic Gray cardstock – Stampin’ Up
Slit punch – Stampin’ Up


The adults received this favor to take home as a memento of the evening:

40th.bday.favor

Favor tins – Michaels
Cellophane bags – www.clearbags.com
Candy – My Color m&m’s (purchased at Michaels) & Hershey Kisses
Labels – Avery
Circle punch – Stampin’ Up
Light blue organdy ribbon – Michaels

3 thoughts on ““40 is the new 30”

  1. Kimmie – you blow me away with your creativity. I absolutely love the logo and the “ticket” – way cool! I can’t wait to see the rest his brithday event………….Patti

  2. Oh this is perfect…My husband is turning 40 and I can’t wait to start making these for his friends and family. I am hosting his birthday at a replica Wrigley field in which we will be playing a softball game. The ticket invite is perfect!

  3. Someone e-mailed me a couple of days ago (July 8th or 9th, I think) asking about this ticket invite. I accidentally deleted the e-mail before I had a chance to reply…to answer your question, I designed these invites in Illustrator and printed, cut and assembled everything at home. If you have any more questions, please feel free to contact me again.

Leave a Reply

