A stitch in time

It’s been so long since I posted a sewing project. I was starting to wonder whether I should remove the words “…and the occasional sewing project” from my header. And then the month of May came…I sewed more than I ever have in my entire life! Here are the three projects I completed in May…

 

1 | vests

Every year our elementary school celebrates Multicultural Day in the spring. Each classroom selects a country to study in depth, then presents a dance and food from that country on Multicultural Day. My daughter’s kindergarten class studied Poland, as a family in our class had immigrated from there. I was quite nervous when the parent in charge of the event asked me to make vests for the girls in our class. I overcame my initial fears and went on to make a vest pattern and sew 11 black felt vests with red rickrack detail. Five moms in our class then decorated the vests with sequins, fabric glue, and a whole lot of patience. Each vest was beautiful and uniquely decorated.

vest.front

vest.back

 

2 | burp rags

I made a set of four burp rags for a friend expecting a baby girl in the summer. This is the first time I tried decorating burp rags with flannel and matching ribbon. Click here to see the tutorial I used.

burp.rags.folded

burp.rags.corner.view

 

3 | a skirt for my daughter

This is something I have wanted to try for a long time. A friend of mine sent me this link to a tutorial for a ribbon-edged skirt (the link for the instructions is towards the bottom of the post). These are so easy to make; I might try to make a few more for my daughters, maybe even one for myself!

dress.whole.view

dress.on.erin

3 thoughts on “A stitch in time

  1. Love the vest: had no clue they would have such beautiful detail in them…………you must be quite proud! The kids are all so lucky to have you do this! Great job! You have been quite busy! Thanks for sharing such a great project………xoxo, Patti

Leave a Reply

