Flower power

I got a great deal on the scrapbook paper I used for my daughter’s birthday invitation; it was in the clearance section, 6 sheets for $1. When I started cutting it up to make the invitations, I noticed that the paper is actually for Christmas! No wonder I got such a great deal on them in the summer…oh, well…I don’t think it’s too obvious that it’s a holiday paper.

Here is the outside of the invitation:

inviteclosed

I cut the curve of the flap with a pair of scissors. I made a template in Illustrator, and I used that template to trace the shape onto the red cardstock with a pencil. After trying out other low tech methods (e.g., using the edge of a dinner plate!), I found that making a template on the computer was the fastest, easiest, most accurate way to make a curved flap.

flapcloseup

 

I closed the flap with small velcro “buttons” that are usually used for sewing projects. I was happy with the fact that the flaps were secure and easy to open and close, but I wasn’t happy with how thick the velcro pieces made the flap. I know there are small, thin magnetic discs available as an alternative, but I don’t think they would have been strong enough to keep this invitation closed. If anyone has any better ideas, please let me know in the comments section! Following are some different views as the invitation is opened.

inviteopenvelcro

invitedetailsopen

openandclosed

 

Here are the matching tags I made to tie onto the favor bags (the tag and flower are made from Sizzix Originals die cuts, and the green leaves were cut by hand):

partybagtags

partybagtagcloseup

Leave a Reply

