One for the little one

A bright, cheerful card to welcome a little baby boy…I know, I know…you’re thinking, “Another baby card?!” I’m just at that stage in life where a lot of our friends and family members are having kids, so do forgive me if you’re tired of seeing baby cards!

The baby image was colored with Berol Prismacolor art pencils, then given a wash of gamsol odorless mineral spirits. The gamsol is applied with a blending stump (these are usually used for oil paints, charcoal and pastels). I know this all sounds strange, but I discovered this technique about 8 years ago at a rubber stamp convention. I bought a small kit from Inky Antics, and it has lasted me all of these years. Out of curiosity, I went to the Inky Antics web site (www.inkyantics.com) and the supplies are still available (look under Accessories –> Coloring & Blending). I prefer this method to other ways of producing a watercolor effect, because I have a larger range of colors available with my 48-color art pencil set and I don’t have to run to the sink to get a small container of water. There is no cleanup, and producing shadow details is a snap.

Here are some of the supplies used to make this card:
• Tempting Turquoise, Green Galore, Whisper White cardstock – Stampin’ Up (www.stampinup.com)
• baby – Baby Firsts set (retired) from Stampin’ Up
• blue brads – Making Memories (www.makingmemories.com)

littleone.gif 

One thought on “One for the little one

Leave a Reply

