Having a whale of a time

Another simple card…I like the combination of baby blue with a little bit of bright red. The tag was cut with a Sizzix die (www.sizzix.com), embellished with a square blue eyelet, and mounted with foam tape. Here are some of the items I used:

• blue (Bashful Blue) cardstock and ink – Stampin’ Up (www.stampinup.com)
• whale – Rubber Soul (www.rubbersoul.com)
• “boy oh boy” – A Muse Artstamps (www.amuseartstamps.com)

I made four of these cards; two were used to welcome newborn baby boys, while the other was used to wish a “happy 1st birthday” to another little boy. I kept the fourth one in my files. I have to go off on a little tangent here…I recently looked back on my card files and found that one of my earliest handmade cards is dated December 1992! It’s interesting to see the progression of my different styles and ideas in the last 16 years…My cards looked okay to me back when I originally made them, but, like anything else, things go in and out of style. I would be embarrassed to share most of those cards today…the range of tools and rubber stamp styles available these days is truly amazing and vast in comparison to what was available in the early ’90s.

babyboycardwhale.gif    

2 thoughts on “Having a whale of a time

Leave a Reply

