Monkeying around

I am a complete novice when it comes to sewing. People always say that pillowcases are the easiest thing for a beginner to make, but I somehow always seem to find a way to prove those kinds of blanket statements wrong. I encountered a few technical difficulties, but I persevered. Of course, I didn’t help my cause right off the bat when I accidentally cut the decorative edge strip (the polka dot fabric) a 1/2 inch short (the saying “measure twice, cut once” comes to mind rather quickly…).

The main problem I had when making the pillowcase was keeping the three layers of fabric together while sewing the polka dot strip to the monkey fabric…I kept getting a little puckering along the seam due to the top layer not feeding evenly. All this, even with pinning the fabric every inch and a half! The pillowcase construction is easy; I just need to work on my technical skills. Nevertheless, I am enjoying my cheerful pillowcase and having many happy dreams.

monkeypillowcase.gif

monkeypillowcaseedge.gif

1 thought on “Monkeying around

Leave a comment